Search Unity

How to make a quiz game in unity3D?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ninzpodador, Nov 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ninzpodador

ninzpodador

I'm a beginner in using a unity3D. My thesis in school to make a simple RPG Educational game. And the most highlight is the quiz game. Now, my question is how to make a Quiz Game in Unity3D. How to store data questions and answers and how it will be displayed in the scene of the game. What to be use? What are the things should I do? Is there any video tutorial about making a quiz game in Unity3D? Can somebody help me please....

jugendrabhati and cd14039 like this.
  2. TonyLi

TonyLi

As you're already identified, most of the framework will consist of data (questions and answers) and UI (displaying in the scene of your game). Here are my thoughts:

If you're handy with scripting, you can write a simple reader for XML, JSON, or CSV (spreadsheet) format. Otherwise, you could use an in-editor extension such as Game Data Editor. The important thing is to keep your data separate from your code. Don't put the actual question data inside your scripts.

You could define multiple choice questions like this:

<question>
    <prompt>Who was the first president of the United States of America?</prompt>
    <answer correct=false>Genghis Khan</answer>
    <answer correct=true>George Washington</answer>
    <answer correct=false>Brad Pitt</answer>​
    <question>​

I'll skip implementation details, since this is the Game Design forum.

Then you need a way to display questions and answers. This depends on what GUI system you use. Unity 4.6 was just released with a new UI system. Since you're just getting started, you might consider using it. Tutorials are here.