Search Unity

Discussion How to make a Multiplayer like Genshin Impact?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by PalitoDev, Nov 11, 2022.

1. PalitoDev

PalitoDev

I'm new to the nets, but together with a group we are starting a multiplayer gacha video game project like Genshin Impact (but without an open world, it would be maps in different scenes like Star Rail or Persona)

I have researched and asked a lot but I still don't have a clear answer.

Correct me if I'm wrong about something:

For now I need a relay server for the game, but at the same time I need a client-server model with persistent data.

Can you explain me in more detail about all this? How could I get multiplayer like genshin (considering it will also be gacha, have exploration, and people can join friends via the friends list)?

If you can tell me what services to use I would really appreciate it.

Although we know that this is difficult for newbies in networks, we are trying very hard and we have no problem studying how it works for many hours, but we need more information since we are somewhat stuck, thank you very much <3

2. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

Relay is just helping to get players connect to a server that would otherwise be unreachable to them due to network settings (NAT, firewall).

Client-Server are all currently available (and recommendable) networking solutions for Unity: Netcode for GameObjects, Fish-Networking, Mirror and Photon.

Persistant data is something you won‘t get a ready-made framework for. Usually you just have to be able to identify players (account management) and store their data. Most commonly you would use a database for this, but even json or custom formats would do. Just keep the data separate from the server.