Search Unity

How to maintain a sequence of Texture3D's in shader and access with indices?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by ZephyrL, Jul 18, 2019.

1. ZephyrL

ZephyrL

Hi there,

I'm a bit new to unity shader programming, currently, I want to maintain a realtime Global Distance Field which should be calculated out from all local signed distance field(SDF) data (you can search "SDFr" on Github for the tool). I've already had some baked Texture3D of those local SDF and pass each of them into the shader, now the shader has a number of Texture3D's.

Since they are local SDF and the global SDF should convert them to the world space, here also pass a StructuredBuffer which contains a sequence of bounding boxes and transformations. Now the method to calculate the global distance at any sample point (regarding one Texture3D) is like:

Code (CSharp):
    2.             Texture3D _VolumeATex;
    3.             Texture3D _VolumeBTex;
    4. ...
    5. struct SDFrVolumeData
    6. {
    7.     float4x4 WorldToLocal;
    8.     float3 Extents;
    9. };
    10. ...
    11.             StructuredBuffer<SDFrVolumeData> _VolumeBuffer;
    12. ...
    14.             fixed4 frag(...){
    16.                 float temp = 0;
    17.                 float minDistance = LARGE_DISTANCE;
    18.                 // globalPos is current sample position
    19.                 // check if the global position is inside the bounding box
    20.                 if(InsideAABB(globalPos, _VolumeBuffer[0])){
    21.                     // sample the distance from local SDF
    22.                     temp = DistanceFunctionTex3DFast(globalPos, _VolumeBuffer[0], _VolumeATex);
    23.                     distance1 = min(distance1, temp);
    24.                 } else {
    25.                     // otherwise return an approximate distance
    26.                     temp = GlobalDistanceToAABBPlus(globalPos, _VolumeBuffer[0], _VolumeATex);