Search Unity

Resolved How to loop a repetitive movement during a specific time frame

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Peilo77, Jan 12, 2022.

1. Peilo77

Peilo77

Dear all,

I'd like to ask how to loop a repetitive movement during a specific time frame?

Please reply to this first question for help and if you want to help me more read on :)

So, more specifically here is what I am trying to do:

In a 2d shoot'em up I want to create an enemy with a movement pattern consisting of several different repetitive moves that succeed each other in a loop. Since I am a beginner I need to first figure out how to make it possible to loop the first movement at which I didn't succeed.

The first move is an up and down movement that should last for 10 seconds (and afterwards it should begin the next movement loop).

Here is the code for the first movement, but it doesn't do the "ping pong move" while in the Start method and does it endlessly while in the Update method. What am I missing or what did I code wrong? Please help :)

[SerializeField] GameObject enemy; // reference to the gameObject I want to move

[SerializeField] float pingPongSpeed = 0.3f // speed of the movement

[SerializeField] int seconds = 10; // the timer for the loop; it's the amount of seconds I want the loop to run

void Start ()
    {
    for (int i = 0; i < seconds; i++)
    {
    float y = Math.PingPong(Time.time * pingPongSpeed, 1) * 3f - 1.5f;
    enemy.transform.position = new Vector3(transform.position.x, y, transform.position.z);
    }
    }

I found the PingPong code from the internet (which works perfectly on its own) and inserted it in a loop in hopes it would loop during 10 seconds or ten times but nothing happens at all.

If I understood correctly; i starts at 0 and gets incremented by 1 as long as it's not higher than 9 (since it starts at 0 I have my 10 seconds) and each time it gets incremented by 1 it runs the body of the loop or did I get this wrong?