Search Unity

Question How to learn c# for unity?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by dhruvchoksi099, Dec 27, 2023.

1. dhruvchoksi099

dhruvchoksi099

I want to learn c# programming so that i can make a game of the type i want write scripts according to it and all but i dont know where to exactly find the exact thing to learn from where it teaches from scratch to the end about c# and also i have very little programming knowledge with just basics of c++ and python. What to do can u recommend some of the good ways and place to learn c# from? Also i am familiar with unity as i have made one prototype and a game on unity from the courses i took from unity and Coursera (c# scripts were provided in it before hand)

2. spiney199

spiney199

https://learn.unity.com/pathway/junior-programmer

At the beginning you just want to get comfortable with C# in general. It can also be worthwhile learning C# on it's own then picking up Unity.

Wanting to find tutorials to make the specific game you want to usually doesn't work. Game dev is constant problem solving, so you need to build up that first and foremost.

And the best way to do that is to just code a bunch and learn as much as you can.

Nad_B and Bunny83 like this.
  3. Nad_B

Nad_B

4. Yoreki

Yoreki

I personally like to recommend the tutorial series by Sebastian Lague:

He explains the core concepts of coding really well and gives you small Unity related tasks and games to work on. No matter where you start tho, no tutorial will teach you everything you need. Programming is always about learning new things. When you do something new, you will always look up how others did it, or what the documentation has to say about certain functions. That is programming. After you have the basics down, just start working on small projects to build experience and confidence.

Programming is absolutely learning by doing, so even while you watch or read your first ressources on the topics, dont just let it sink it, do something with it!