Search Unity

How to learn Blender?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by namelessguy04, Jul 25, 2022.

1. namelessguy04

namelessguy04

Hi, I want to develop a game in the following style. It's a kind of garden simulation, so I want prefabs like Animals, growing plants and trees.
    As a beginner I think the design of the animals with the fur looks good even if the models are primary.
    upload_2022-7-25_19-13-29.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-25_19-13-48.jpeg upload_2022-7-25_19-14-0.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-25_19-14-20.jpeg

Is it realistic to learn to make this in Blender as a person who is new to 3d modelling? Which techniques should I learn especially for this „fur/paper“ look of the animals, and how can I make the leafs on the tree? Are there any tricks? Do you know any systematic tutorial which explain the elementary concepts of Blender?

Thank you.

2. spiney199

spiney199

As far as learning Blender goes the learning process is two fold, you're learning both the software and the principles of 3d modelling. If you have zero experience with 3d artistry, then your first focus should be getting comfortable with both the software and how to assemble basic 3d models alongside how to bring them into Unity.

3D is a discipline that you start learning and never finish learn, same as any of the other primary disciplines of making video games.

I'm not sure how the above visual effects were achieved, particularly on the piñata characters. Could be a lot of little 3d planes or it could be a shader.

But before that, how much game making experience do you have? Have you ever used Unity before? Have any programming skills? If not then you really should be thinking about just learning the fundamentals.

3. namelessguy04

namelessguy04

Thanks for answering.
    I would say I developed the fundamental game mechanics. So I have scripting and basic Unity skills.
    Can you recommend a free tutorial which was especially made for Unity cases?
    How you learned Blender?