Search Unity

Audio How to investigate FMOD Error (File not found)

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Ponzel, May 2, 2019.

  1. Ponzel

    Ponzel

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Hello everyone!

    Following situation: Recently we released a game to a couple thousand people and we're collecting exceptions in our internal error reporting system. This is simply done by calling
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void Start() {
    2.     Applicaiton.logMessageReceived += LogCallback;
    3. }
    4.  
    5. private void LogCallback(string condition, string stackTrace, LogType type) {
    6.     // upload condition and stackTrace to our server
    7.     // ...
    8. }
    Now, we're getting a lot of error reports where the condition is
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Error: Cannot create FMOD::Sound instance for resource resources.resource, (File not found. )
    The stackTrace is empty.

    I'm wondering how to start investigating this issue... I have not seen this error on my machine, but it happens for our players. If I had a stack trace I could start narrowing things down, but that's missing for some reason.

    If anyone could provide any more insight into the error message, why it could be happening or how to find out what could be causing it, I'd appreciate it a lot. Thanks!
     
    wahntin likes this.
  2. JonesyLeo

    JonesyLeo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry to reopen a 4yo thread...
    Have you found a solution?
     
  3. SeventhString

    SeventhString

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2023
    Posts:
    416
    Hi @JonesyLeo !

    Are you experiencing something similar? The issue above might have been related to asset management or serialization, which evolved a lot over the last years. If so, please share anything to you can, such as log, videos, preferred car freshener scent, etc...

    Cheers!
     
  4. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    Same issue. Unity 2022.3.9f1, WebGL.

    Loading the AssetBundle in Unity for debugging, here is the result:

    1. The whole asset bundle prefab shows well, with every script on it.

    2. The audio clips are also there.
    Screenshot 2567-01-19 at 16.53.27.png

    3. However double-clicking on the audio clip shows flat audio:
    Screenshot 2567-01-19 at 16.53.46.png

    4. Then the console started to log the usual error log:
    Screenshot 2567-01-19 at 16.54.56.png
     
  5. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    Ah, it seems this setting did the trick.
    Now the sounds are properly loaded from AssetBundle even when the asset is unloaded after Instantation...
    Screenshot 2567-01-19 at 17.38.09.png
     
    Maxim48592 and SeventhString like this.