Search Unity

How to instantiate new player prefabs

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by tater_pie, Feb 11, 2019.

1. tater_pie

tater_pie

I'm making a 2D game with unity, I'm an experienced Java programmer and decided to learn C#.
    My game is a 2D MMORPG and I'm writing the entire server by hand, and using 0 unity network management stuff, so my questions are:

How do i (In code):
    instantiate and spawn a new player object into a scene
    manipulate that objects animations and position, etc on screen (i have information being fed from the server about all the players that are visible to this player)

I really just need some snippets, I can figure out the logistics in between..

I know theres like, Instantiate() method and such but not quite sure how to manipulate the animations and such, i have different prefabs for different types of characters so it may get complicated but thats ok

Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Indeed ALL of these things possible to do in Unity. It is an enormous and wonderful playground, but you must do your own legwork to identify how to use each part.

I recommend one step at a time, and all of the steps can be found here: Learn

Munchy2007 likes this.
  3. tater_pie

tater_pie

im learning it one step at a time, i was looking for a formal explanation on how this would work in my current context not having access to monobehavior or another script.
    thanks for... the links to the tutorials i guess... i appreciate the effort

4. Munchy2007

Munchy2007

I don't understand what you mean by this, how can you not have access to Monobehaviour if you're using Unity, even if you are writing your own network code?

Btw, I would have pointed you to the same tutorials as those that kurt-decker did.

Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  5. tater_pie

tater_pie