Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Install Unity and MonoDevelop on Ubuntu 16.04 - Linux

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Zagaz, Jul 25, 2017.

1. Zagaz

Zagaz

OK folks!

I'm new in Linux and I had some issues to install Unity on Ubuntu.

I spent some 2 weeks fighting against my Ubuntu16.04 to make Unity work with MonoDevelp nice and easy. As far as I have in my mind that if I know something, I have to teach others, so here I’m to try save the day.

Lets go step by step.

ALERT: DO NOT TRY ANYTHING BESIDES THE STEPS I AM SHOWING HERE!!!!

1) Install Unity on Ubuntu 16.04.

Go to this link, scroldown all they way to the botton. Check the last post. You will see the link to download the .deb. So, go ahead and do it. (Forget the terminal, I had lots of issues when I tryied to install via Terminal).

After download, go to the directory where you installed the .deb and double-click it.

https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/unity-on-linux-release-notes-and-known-issues.350256/

Once in the website, scroll allll the waaaaayyy doowwn to the bottom to the last post. You will see the download link. For experience don't download via torrent, use the direct link.

Once you download the .deb. You will see the install window. Just click in install.

When it’s finished, you can check on the launcher the Unity properly installed.

Yes, it is that simple.

2) Install MonoDevelop.

Forget the lamme built-in MonoDevelop. You have to install MonoDevelop outside Unity.

You can install it in 2 different ways (Both work fine):

a) From Ubuntu Software Store (Easiest way).

Go to the Ubuntu Software Store ans browse the MonoDevelp from there and install it. Yep, that's it.

b) From MonoDevelop website (Hard way)

Now, do it exactly as it says:

Copy these codes in the Terminal (The whole thing in this order):