Search Unity

1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Help Wanted How to improve the mean reward of my project (Observations, .yaml file, etc)

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by Apolok99, Jul 25, 2021.

1. Apolok99

Apolok99

Hi.
    I am a Spanish university student doing my final degree project with ML-Agents and I would like to ask for some help to improve it. I am trying to create an artificial intelligence with the help of ML-Agents (release 12, Package v1.7.2) that creates a defense animation in a 3D fighting videogame. For this, the project has the following characteristics:
    1. Character defender: A full rigged character that has different colliders on his body (head, chest, legs and arms) and grabs a sword (the agent of this project). If the agent collides with one of these colliders, we set a reward of -1 and we end the episode.
    2. Sword defender (Agent): A sword with a rigidbody and a collider (and all the stuff of the agent). His objective is to collide with the enemy sword, trying to imitate a "real" clash of swords, and thus defend the defender. For that to happen, I have a ChildObject placed right in the middle of each sword. Using "collision.GetContact(0).point" of the function "OnCollisionEnter", I calculate the distance from this ChildObject of the two swords to the point of collision. The shorter this distance, the greater the reward.
    3. Enemy: A full rigged character with a sword that has an attack animation. This sword has a collider. When the animation is played, if the sword collides wit any collider of the charcater defender, we set a reward of -1 and we end the episode.