Search Unity

How to Import Real World Map with Height Map in Unity 3D.

Discussion in 'World Building' started by RehmatKhan, Apr 22, 2019.

1. RehmatKhan

RehmatKhan

Hello,
    I am working on traffic simulation in unity 3d. I have simulated Straight Roads and U-turns but now I want to simulate using real world map like a city in my country (Pakistan) or any other country.

My question is how can I import real world map to unity 3d with its height map (Get road data from OSM maybe) I need height Map because if there is some kind of flyover or highway the terrain should have that height at that position.
    I know there are different tools to do it Like ArcGis etc but I don't know how to use them and combine it with unity 3d. I have no prior knowledge of ArcGis or any other geographical software.

I need you guys to help me here. someone who have done such thing before or know how to do it.
    If you guys know how to combine ArcGis and Unity 3d so do share the complete explanation or link to the article or tutorial.
    For the reference to what I want you can think of Vissim traffic simulator.

Last edited: May 7, 2019
  2. AmandaF

AmandaF

Good morning friend,

There are a lot of tools out there that can pull this data, but the ones that do all the work for you will cost some cash.
    If you need something free, then you'll have to put in some of your own artistic elbow grease.

Here's something you can try, but take note that it only works with Unity 2018.3.x (new Terrain Tools are needed)

1. Go to http://terrain.party/ . This map tool will let you pick up to an 60km set of terrain and export out a series of Height Maps.
    2. If you are picking somewhere in the US, I recommend you click the far right-blue "Square" icon and select USGS data - You get more of it and it looks crisper.
    3. Outside of the US, you have to use Open Data (default option).