Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to host multiplayer servers at home?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by JilkyGames, Aug 1, 2017.

1. JilkyGames

JilkyGames

Okay, I am a complete beginner at unity and this question is more directed to my future self when i'm in a predicament about multiplayer games on unity. When I am making a unity game that has a multiplayer feature, say an MMO, How do I host the game on my own servers. I am planning to get a small server in the foreseeable future to host some game servers and a private cloud.

What I mean is how do you host a game server at home 24/7 so people can play on your game, not using unity multiplayer or any 3rd party places like amazon. Thanks!

2. TwoTen

TwoTen

If you are running something like Windows Server. And your server application is a exe. Double click on it or run it from the command prompt.

If you run a Linux server. Make sure you have make it executable (chmod +x). Then you can run the application from the terminal. ./<fileName>.extension

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Set up your server, and assign it a static IP address or set a DHCP reservation for it on your router (so the IP address doesn't change later). When developing your game, you should choose the UDP or TCP ports your game's server build will use as part of that process. On your router you then forward those port numbers used by your game to the IP address you assigned your server.

You then launch the game server build on your home server like any other application, though it is typical to use the command line switches that don't initialize the graphics interface of the game, or if your server is Linux you just build it as a headless build.