Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question How to hide an object with semi transparent material behind another object with the same material?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by boruds, Jun 3, 2021.

1. boruds

boruds

I am new to writing shaders, I have 2 semi transparent planes with diffuse color. They both have the same material. I want to achieve an effect when one goes behind other, the one behind is hidden so I don't see the objects overlapping. How can I achieve this?

Is there a way to achieve this in shader graph?

Thanks

2. bgolus

bgolus

Certainly, you just need to ...

... oh.

If you're using the URP, there's nothing you can do with Shader Graph alone to make this happen. Unity does not expose the features you'd need to make it possible. They kind of exist for the HDRP, but even there it can't be done with shaders alone.

To do this you need to use either stencils or ZWrite, and render them in reverse order from what they would normally render in as transparent objects. Or you need to render both planes twice, once both using an invisible ZWrite shader, and a second time using whatever basic shader you already have.

3. bgolus

bgolus

Minimal ZWrite Only shader
    Code (csharp):
    1. Shader "ZWrite Only"
    2. {
    3.     SubShader
    4.     {
    5.         Tags { "Queue"="Transparent" "RenderType"="Transparent" }
    7.         Pass {
    8.             ColorMask 0
    9.             CGPROGRAM
    10.             #pragma vertex vert
    11.             #pragma fragment frag
    13.             #include "UnityCG.cginc"
    15.             float4 vert(float4 vertex : POSITION) : SV_POSITION { return UnityObjectToClipPos(vertex); }
    16.             fixed4 frag() : SV_Target { return 0; }
    18.             ENDCG
    19.         }
    20.     }
    21. }

4. boruds

boruds