Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to help the Absolute Beginner?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Tobias J., Apr 18, 2012.

1. Tobias J.

Tobias J.

Hello,

I haven't been here that long, but I have noticed that we get a large number of... uhm, less-than-competent questions. Many newcomers pose questions that are so simple or uninformed that it's clear they should start somewhere else entirely.

Usually, these newcomers do get some form of answer - but it's also very brief and curt, often condescending too. I think this lack of proper answers can easily lead to the newcomer turning into a 'new-leaver', which is a shame for all of us. We all stand to gain if the community is large and active.

Now, how do we answer all these less-than-competent questions from the newcomers, without spending all our time doing so? How do we make them see that we really do want to help, if they show they are ready to be helped?

I'm thinking that some 'Standard Reply' is the answer. If such a standard reply is sufficiently polite and helpful, I think most would prefer such an answer over no answer at all (which many do experience).

So, I am contemplating setting up a wiki page with such an answer, or maybe simply a post here on the forum. So once you think you have a newcomer that should have done his most basic homework before posting, you could simply link to that and still feel you have done right by the newcomer.

Something like this is what I have in mind:

----

Hello, and welcome to Unity3D :)

You have been directed here, because someone thinks you either:

a) Have not done your homework before asking your question, or
    b) Are looking for answers in the wrong place, or
    c) Are trying to run before you can walk – that is, asking advanced questions but lacking the basic knowledge to really benefit from any answers.