Search Unity

How to have my sphere go downhill/uphill smoothly?

Discussion in 'Physics' started by xred13, Nov 20, 2018.

1. xred13

xred13

Hi, so i am making this game, where i've got this ondular generated terrain and a sphere to which i add forward force if i click and it is grounded or downwards force if i click and it is on the air... here's a video:

i've added a physics mat to the terrain and the player sphere with no bouncing and no friction

Problem: sometimes the sphere kind of bounces, ex: time 0:21 or 0:50
    how do i have it smoothly stick to the ground? I am using addforce with ForceMode.acceleration... is this the wrong way for what i want?

EDIT:

Here's a link to the project: https://files.fm/u/nqyd5xp4
    this is my first project, so i'd appreciate any input! :)

Scene is SampleV2 and all the stuff is under the folder SampleV2
    If you click on a plane on the editor it'll check on the x axis of the clicked plane for diferences in the height of the vertices and it will print out the height (y value) of the vertices on the diferent z values

if anyone would like to help out, it'd be great. i commented the code and i think it is clean to an extent. a plane/tile/however i call it is a 3d plane, each wave uses a set number of planes. you can change the terrain to a low poly version or high poly by:
    - default right now is 5 dedicated tiles in TerrainGenerator and plane Z scale == 1
    - low poly for example, you could put 1 in dedicated tiles (1 tile/plane for each wave) and change the plane Z scale value to 5, high poly would be for example 10 dedicated tiles and a z scale on the plane of 0.5

There are some parameters for ex: timeForceClickEnableTime and minimumSecondsOnAir that were added to try and fix a bit the scoring because of all the jumps of the ball, dont pay attention to those