Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

How to handle subprojects?

Discussion in 'Unity Cloud Build' started by ibyte, Jul 9, 2019.

  1. ibyte

    ibyte

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    963
    I am trying to do a cloud build of the VRTK 4 sample Application. The setup advises you to create a new project and then clone VRTK in a directory under Assets.

    Git clone with required submodules into the Assets/ directory:

    Since this is a submodule it is not pushed to my repository from which I am building from. I tried a build anyway - still going after 1 hour. I think it is stalled but no obvious error messages from the build yet related to VRTK.

    Is this supported and if so what have I missed in the setup?
     
  2. Trivium_Dev

    Trivium_Dev

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Posts:
    73
    I use submodules for libraries with my projects and they work fine through Unity Cloud Build. The submodule has to be included in your repo though (as a submodule) so that UCB will know to pull it. Make sure the submodule is setup to use SSH instead of a username/password (HTTPS) because UCB can't enter your username/password to pull it. Your submodule file should look something like this:

    [submodule "Assets/FolderInAssetsForRepo"]
    path = Assets/FolderInAssetsForRepo
    url = git@bitbucket.org:company/repo.git

    Since you are pulling from Github I believe the url should be git@github.com/ExtendRealityLtd/VRTK.git.
     
    ibyte likes this.
  3. ibyte

    ibyte

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    963
    Thank you for the reply. I canceled my first build after 2 hours - Will let the next one ride and see what happens.
     
  4. victorw

    victorw

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Posts:
    318
    For HTTPS submodules we can actually support that but only if you are using Oauth (i.e. the Provider tab using Github/Gitlab/Bitbucket).
     
    ibyte likes this.
  5. ibyte

    ibyte

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    963
    My build just failed


    10408: An internal Unity Cloud Build error has occurred (Unexpected termination of the channel). The Unity Cloud Build team is addressing this issue, and this build can be restarted if needed.
    10409: Build step 'Execute shell' marked build as failure
    10410: ERROR: Build step failed with exception
    10411: Build step 'Execute a set of scripts' marked build as failure
    10412: Finished: FAILURE

    How do I restart it?
     
  6. victorw

    victorw

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Posts:
    318
    You will have to start a new build and hopefully it will succeed - that error is frustrating because it's just a networking issue which has nothing in particular to do with your build except for bad luck.
     
    ibyte likes this.
  7. ibyte

    ibyte

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    963
    @victorw I have submitted my build twice more and something is cancelling my build. Any suggestions?
     
  8. victorw

    victorw

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Posts:
    318
  9. ibyte

    ibyte

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    963
    Done. Thanks
     
unityunity