Search Unity

How to guide player attention using Level Design?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Owyeajaeh, Aug 25, 2017.

1. Owyeajaeh

Owyeajaeh

Hello,

My name is Gabriela, I am a collage student from Brazil currently developing my TIC ( term paper? ) where we have to research a given topic and develop a game using this research. I am currently studying about how to guide player attention using Level Design, like they do in movies ( with buildings, light and shadow, Giant monumets, etc ).

I would like to get some data from you guys regarding wich games you have played and have gotten lost in and why. And I would also like to ask you about a game that you have played and didn't feel lost at all, like the game was perfectly telling you where to go.

Thank you all in advance!

Gabriela

2. Teila

Teila

Hi Gabriela, There is a couple of great videos out there that show just this. One shows how Fallout 4 used the level design to draw the player's attention to important parts of the game. Another is Firewatch which uses Unity. Another really great video is one I saw on Witcher's city expansion pack, Hearts of Stone.

If you google for those, you should be able to find them all. Great games and the way they describe the level design in the videos was amazing. Lots of great ideas for your paper and for our games. Good luck to you!

JoeStrout likes this.
  3. Kona

Kona

Some methods that are quite common (Or atleast I think they're common... I'm no expert but just things that I'vecome to think about by playing games.) is to make use of audio effects, colors, lighting and world details. (The player is far more likely to pay attention to an area that appear to be much more detailed and have more complex geometry, in comparison to an area next to it that might be flat and boring.)

Also, what Teila said. There are numerous resources on the web for this subject. :)

4. Teila

Teila

Well, this is a community of developers.