Search Unity

How to grab object with TWO hands

Discussion in 'XR Interaction Toolkit and Input' started by MattyZ, Sep 14, 2020.

1. MattyZ

MattyZ

Using the Oculus Integration package in Unity (developing for the Oculus Quest), I'm trying to figure out how to grab a gun with TWO hands, where one hand grabs the barrel and the other grabs the handle. I want when I move the handle, the barrel hand stays attached, but the gun itself adjusts accordingly.

I'm a bit new to vr / unity development, and I can't find a thing that supports "two handed" grips with the Oculus Integration package. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance.

2. InsaneDuane

InsaneDuane

3. MattyZ

MattyZ

Thanks for the reply. I'm a little concerned about investing in the xr interaction toolkit because I don't see that it's been supported since last January. Am I missing something? Have there been any updates with it?

4. hariskapa

hariskapa

The XR Interaction toolkit has latest update 17 of November 2020

5. mfuad

mfuad

Unity Technologies

Hey @MattyZ, the latest preview version of our XR Interaction Toolkit released in November; you can read more about that here. It's actively being developed and supported, with plans for a verified version later this year.

6. AnthonyJackson81

AnthonyJackson81

Hi there.

Funny I came across this... I had some spare time this week and thought I'd put down Steam VR and pick up the Oculus Inegration pack.....

My ambition is/was to try and release work for Quest. I was hoping to achieve this by using the Oculus store.

Was I wrong in assuming that i can only use The Oculis Integration kit to get it in the oculus store.

I liked the XR toolkit and Steam VR was also easy to get used to and work with..... but man, Oculus is hard work, event though they have clearly done it and the docs are detailed.

So, should I use XR even for Quest apps?

Cheers.

7. MattyZ

MattyZ