Search Unity

Question How to get color

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Wenon, Feb 20, 2021.

1. Wenon

Wenon

Hello, Im new with shader graph and I'm trying to get color via script.
    unknown.png

I tried with material.GetColor("_Color") or just material.Color but unity says that shader do not constain _Color parameter. How can I get color from master node?

2. sandolkakos

sandolkakos

It has just some hours since I started to play with ShaderGraph, but I would say the issue for you is that your Shader does not have a property called: "_Color"

upload_2021-2-20_20-56-20.png

3. Wenon

Wenon

But this is just input, I need color made by shader, final color in master.

4. sandolkakos

sandolkakos

But that "Color(3) input" (as far as I know) is only the port where the Master Node will receive everything you did in order to show the final result of the shader, which could be a color (yellow, pink, red, etc..) or a texture with a lot of complex pixels changes.

What specifically would you like to do with that info in your code?

5. Wenon

Wenon

I need a color generated by a noise in shader. Im arleady using mathf.perlinnoise and some other plugin with noise from github but it starting to be very heavy if I need a lot of values from noises. I thing noise generaded in shader (so by gpu) would be much faster.

6. sandolkakos

sandolkakos

I'm not an expert in Shaders and didn't understand exactly what you want to do with the noise result, but if you want to provide more details, I can try to help while another experienced person comes to help you.

7. JG-Denver

JG-Denver

I would use one of the Shader Graph Noise nodes, there are three:
    Gradient Noise
    Simple Noise
    Voronoi

Gradient is Perlin.

That will give you a single floating point value, so you will probably want three generators one for each color. Then play around with the parameters until you get the amount of noise or smoothed noise you want for your effect.