Search Unity

How to get an assembly file type in c#

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by LeonWD, Mar 22, 2020.

1. LeonWD

LeonWD

I started learning to use unity today, so sorry if this is a dumb question. But all of the tutorials i see use the 'assembly-CSharp' file type in visual studio, but mine keeps going to 'miscellaneous file' and it seems that the language is subtly different as the commands in the tutorials don't work in this file type. The first command i noticed this with was 'getcomponent', which i was unable to use. My visual studio.png tutorial image.png

2. Dextozz

Dextozz

Hmmm, it seems your MonoBehavior isn't even loaded correctly. A quick fix might be to simply reload your solution.

Step 1) Close your solution
    upload_2020-3-22_22-45-44.png

Step 2) Open your solution from within Visual Studio. Look for a .sln file in your project directory.

This is just a simple thing but it usually works. Let me know if it doesn't.

3. LeonWD

LeonWD

Thanks, I gave it a try but i cant find how to get to the code window now. I've got it up in the solution explorer but i can't figure out how to view it properly. How do i view the code window?

4. Dextozz

Dextozz

Your scripts are located in the solution explorer on the right. If you don't see it for some reason, go to View -> Solution explorer or use a shortcut Ctrl+Alt+L

5. LeonWD

LeonWD

help.png
    Right, i found that i was opening just the sln file instead of the whole project, but it hasn't fixed the issue, it still comes up as a 'miscellaneous file'. I might be doing something wrong; do you have discord so i can screen share?

6. Dextozz

Dextozz

7. LeonWD

LeonWD

8. LeonWD

LeonWD

I've got to go for a bit, I've not been able to fix it yet.

9. LeonWD

LeonWD