Search Unity

How to get access to light attenuation in a deferred surface shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by djweinbaum, Nov 12, 2016.

1. djweinbaum

djweinbaum

Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to shaders, and I'm trying to figure out how to make a deferred vegetation shader. I know of a lot of ways to do SSS/light wrapping/translucency, but all of them require access to the shadows. It seems possible to do in deferred, because other assets/engines do it. Can anyone give me any tips to point me in the right direction?

2. bgolus

bgolus

Other engines do it with one (or more) of a few ways.
    1. Store all information about the surface's translucency into the gbuffers to use later when rendering the deferred lights.
    2. During the gbuffer pass also allow access to light information (often just the main light) so translucency / sss can be calculated immediately.
    3. Render translucency / sss as a separate forward pass that gets added later / injected into the accumulation buffer pre-lighting.
    4. Anything that uses translucency / sss gets rendered entirely as a forward pass like transparent objects.
    I believe most of the assets on the store work like option 4, and do work "with deferred rendering", but don't actually get rendered using the deferred path. Alloy and Uber have custom gbuffer layouts which allow the, to work like option 1. Unreal Engine 3 worked like option 4 as well, and I think Unreal Engine 4 is a combination of 1 and 3 where cheap translucency is done in the gbuffer, but more complex sss is an added forward pass on top.

I seem to remember some older game engines using option 2, but it's not common. I seem to remember some foliage shaders doing this for Unity, but it means no shadowed translucent lighting.