Search Unity

How to get a job as Unity 3d game developer?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by IvanDonets, Feb 24, 2016.

1. IvanDonets

IvanDonets

I want to know: what a re my chances to become a Unity3d programmer? Around 3 years ago I got to know about Unity3d for a first time. Before that I played with visual basic .net (well, but also with basic for DOS - it was around 20 years ago). I studied physics 2,5 years in academy, but had best mark on Programming subject. Programming is my hobby, and at present I am playing with Unity3d to make 3d game in which I can click and go, click and attack, click and pick item, or click on statue to worship and get benefit from its deity etc. I never programmed in C#, but read one full book on it (I am reading unity3d docs on unity3d site or search internet if I can't understand something, or finally post here). I watched Enemy AI tutorial to start with the most interesting part. Now I understand what are WayPoints, how to make character (player or enemy) to walk towards certain destination, how to LookAt target, how to play animations with the code (but only Legacy animation, I don't understand Mechanim avatar/animator system, though I tried to change a 3d model and it worked. But I don't understand it to the end so I use legacy Animtion for 3d characters). I downloaded two free models - samurai and troll with legacy animations, and made a simple 3d game. Player has a script with health and mana, mana is used to freeze a monster on played frame (like in Diablo). By drinking mana potions, mana is increased, by drinking health potions - health increased. By drinking regeneration potion - both are increased. Potions appear on same transform.position as Enemy corpse is lying (I freeze "die" animation on lying frame). Trolls reappear nearby after they are killed, so game can be played practically forever. But game has no saving/loading feature, and I develop only for Windows, though I see that mostly to Get a job one shoul