Search Unity

Bug How to fix this build error? (android)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Jakopro, Jan 9, 2023.

  1. Jakopro

    Jakopro

    Joined:
    May 30, 2021
    Posts:
    18
    I'm trying to build my project for android, but when I try, I get a lot of weird errors. Some of them seem more helpful, these are some of them:

    1. Starting a Gradle Daemon, 1 incompatible Daemon could not be reused, use --status for details

      > Configure project :launcher
      WARNING: The option 'android.enableR8' is deprecated and should not be used anymore.
      It will be removed in a future version of the Android Gradle plugin, and will no longer allow you to disable R8.

      UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent (int,intptr,bool&)

    2. Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/repository/android/common/02 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/repository/android/common/01
      Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/repository/android/generic/02 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/repository/android/generic/01
      Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/addon2/02 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/addon2/01
      Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/addon2/03 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/addon2/01
      Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/repository2/02 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/repository2/01
      Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/repository2/03 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/repository2/01
      Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/sys-img2/03 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/sys-img2/01
      Warning: Mapping new ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/sys-img2/02 to old ns http://schemas.android.com/sdk/android/repo/sys-img2/01
    3. * What went wrong:
      Could not determine the dependencies of task ':launcher:lintVitalRelease'.
      > Could not resolve all artifacts for configuration ':launcher:debugRuntimeClasspath'.
      > Could not find :androidx.arch.core.core-runtime-2.0.0:.
      Searched in the following locations:
      - file:/C:/Users/Jakov/BlastMobile/Temp/gradleOut/launcher/libs/androidx.arch.core.core-runtime-2.0.0.aar
      Required by:
      project :launcher > project :unityLibrary
      > Could not find :androidx.asynclayoutinflater.asynclayoutinflater-1.0.0:.
      Searched in the following locations:
      - file:/C:/Users/Jakov/BlastMobile/Temp/gradleOut/launcher/libs/androidx.asynclayoutinflater.asynclayoutinflater-1.0.0.aar
      Required by:
      project :launcher > project :unityLibrary
      > Could not find :androidx.coordinatorlayout.coordinatorlayout-1.0.0:.
      (...)

    Does anyone have any idea about what these mean? Please tell me if you know how I might fix these errors.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2023
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,697
    How to troubleshoot build failures:

    First, make a blank project with a single blank scene and prove that it builds successfully.

    If the blank project does NOT build, go fix your Unity installation or your other tools, such as Android SDK, NDK, JDK, etc. It may even be necessary to change to a different version of Unity3D. It is generally best to stay with LTS versions of Unity3D.

    Until you can build a blank project to the target platform, don't fiddle with anything else.

    Once you can build a blank project, now bisect the problem by bringing over parts of your current project and building it one subsystem at a time, perhaps stubbing things out that might trigger compiler errors.

    Most often things that prevent building are third-party libraries such as Firebase.

    Once you identify the subsystem, go to the documentation for it and make sure you are doing it correctly.

    It may also be helpful to work through a tutorial or two for whatever subsystem is making the build fail.

    Android build not building:

    Recently (circa July 2022) there have been reports of Unity's installer failing to install the Android Tools.

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/cant-build-for-android.1306098/

    Here was how I brought up Unity2020.3.41 and the Android SDK 31 on October 30, 2022:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/aab...y-2021-3-8-with-jdk-1-8.1322211/#post-8551193

    Android Gradle errors and other related stuff:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/unity-gradle-bug-please-help.1368018/#post-8625789
     
  3. Jakopro

    Jakopro

    Joined:
    May 30, 2021
    Posts:
    18
    I made a blank project and added a SampleScene to the build settings, nothing else. Build failed and it seems like I got exactly same errors... I installed Android SDK using Android Studio, so I don't think that is a problem. I might try installing another version of Unity. I just have one question: is it possible for my project to get damaged if I open it using another Unity version? Just want to know if I should make a backup.
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,697
    ALWAYS make backups, ALWAYS work with source control.

    Personally I use git (completely outside of Unity) because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up as well as free places to host your repo (BitBucket, Github, Gitlab, etc.).

    You can also push git repositories to other drives: thumb drives, USB drives, network drives, etc., effectively putting a complete copy of the repository there.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    I usually make a separate repository for each game, but I have some repositories with a bunch of smaller test games.

    Here is how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up an appropriate .gitignore file for Unity3D:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally setting Unity up (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity

    It is only simple economics that you must expend as much effort into backing it up as you feel the work is worth in the first place. Digital storage is so unbelievably cheap today that you can buy gigabytes of flash drive storage for about the price of a cup of coffee. It's simply ridiculous not to back up.

    If you plan on joining the software industry, you will be required and expected to know how to use source control.

    "Use source control or you will be really sad sooner or later." - StarManta on the Unity3D forum boards
     
  5. Jakopro

    Jakopro

    Joined:
    May 30, 2021
    Posts:
    18
    I installed the newest LTS version of Unity, my project does not break but it still doesn't build. If I make a blank project in that same version, I still get an error. Also, I made sure that my NDK, JDK and SDK is installed with Unity.

    Here is the error I'm getting (in the blank project).

    * What went wrong:
    A problem occurred configuring project ':launcher'.
    > Could not resolve all artifacts for configuration ':launcher:classpath'.
    > Could not resolve com.android.tools.build:gradle:4.0.1.
    Required by:
    project :launcher
    > Could not resolve com.android.tools.build:gradle:4.0.1.
    > Could not get resource 'https://dl.google.com/dl/android/maven2/com/android/tools/build/gradle/4.0.1/gradle-4.0.1.pom'.
    > Could not GET 'https://dl.google.com/dl/android/maven2/com/android/tools/build/gradle/4.0.1/gradle-4.0.1.pom'.
    > dl.google.com
    > Could not resolve com.android.tools.build:gradle:4.0.1.
    > Could not get resource 'https://jcenter.bintray.com/com/android/tools/build/gradle/4.0.1/gradle-4.0.1.pom'.
    > Could not GET 'https://jcenter.bintray.com/com/android/tools/build/gradle/4.0.1/gradle-4.0.1.pom'.
    > jcenter.bintray.com

    * Try:
    Run with --stacktrace option to get the stack trace. Run with --info or --debug option to get more log output. Run with --scan to get full insights.

    Do you have any idea about why doesn't it work?