Search Unity

How to find the index of a vertex in a fragment shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by PiezPiedPy, Aug 28, 2019.

1. PiezPiedPy

PiezPiedPy

Hi, I'm new to shaders and have got a small problem I cant solve.

To explain better, my vertices are created in an Vector3[] array called vertices, it is then passed to a mesh with mesh.vertices = vertices;

I also have a StructuredBuffer<float> _Strengths; I have created with a ComputeShader, is the same size as the vertices array and has data I want to extract and use for each vertex position in the vertices array.

What I need is the index of the current vertex in the fragment stage of my shader so I can use it to access the data in my StructuredBuffer.

i.e. float strength = _Strengths[index];

the index which I cant find being the same index value the shader uses to grab the vertex data from the vertices array as in vertices[index].

2. bgolus

bgolus

You can’t get the current vertex index in the fragment shader stage because in the fragment there isn’t any information about individual vertices. Also, more importantly, the fragment shader is always getting data from 3 vertices (when using triangle topology, which is the default).

Now, if you mean you want the vertex ID in the vertex shader stage, then that’s relatively straightforward.
    Code (csharp):
    1. v2f vertex(appdata v, uint vertexID : SV_VertexID)
    If you want access to that data in the fragment, then you’ll need to pass that data along in your v2f struct. Just know by default it’ll be an interpolated value between the three vertices of the triangle the fragment is currently rendering.

3. PiezPiedPy

PiezPiedPy

Cheers, that seems to have done the trick ;)

4. RavenTravelStudios

RavenTravelStudios

Hello, sorry for bumping this but I'm stuck with a similar issue.