Search Unity

How to find object's height above terrain mesh?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by bigkahuna, Sep 7, 2006.

1. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

I have a vehicle that is floating over a terrain mesh and I want to find it's "altitude". I'm able to find it's height in world coordinates with this:

Code (csharp):
    1. var Altitude = transform.position.y;
    But I want to find the actual distance along the y axis between my vehicle and the terrain mesh. I studied the docs and found that what I probably need to use are raycast, raycasthit or raycastcollider, but the docs are pretty thin and there aren't any code samples.

Anyone have a simple code snippet to get me started? I'm using Javascript BTW. Thanks!

2. antenna-tree

antenna-tree

Add this to your Vehicle script.

Code (csharp):
    1. var hit : RaycastHit;
    2. var heightAboveGround = 0;
    4. if (Physics.Raycast (transform.position, transform.TransformDirection (Vector3.down) , hit, Mathf.Infinity))
    5. {
    6.     heightAboveGround = hit.distance;
    7. }

kev000 likes this.
  3. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Thanks, I had just figured it out and was about to post the solution!

4. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Code (csharp):
    2. var heightAboveGround = 0;
    Actually that should be 0.0, or specify ": float". Otherwise you get integer values. Just to be nitpicky. ;)

--Eric

5. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

That leads to a question I've had about Javascript but never asked.

I've seen other folk declare their variables within Functions or IF loops, and I've now picked up the habit. For example here's my code:

Code (csharp):
    1. var hit : RaycastHit;
    3. if (Physics.Raycast (transform.localPosition, transform.TransformDirection (Vector3.down), hit))
    4. {
    5.     var heightAboveGround = hit.distance;
    6. }