Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to enable input on a different virtual camera

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by siennakei, May 10, 2022.

1. siennakei

siennakei

I'm pretty new to unity so apologies in advance if my logic is a bit off. Basically I have a section in my game where i'd like the player to transition to, on the click of a button. I'd like the camera to show this transition too. To explain what i mean a bit better, it's kind of like getting inside a locker. So the player is outside the locker, you click the locker, and the player moves to inside the locker, with the camera tracking POV.

I've tried all sorts without much luck, but what I've found looks best is creating a virtual camera in the position where I want the player to be, and then setting the priority of the camera, when the button is clicked. It's a really nice and smooth transition so that's great. The issue I'm having though, is that player input isn't enabled on the virtual camera so i can't move around or use any inputs. I've tried setting the 'follow' field to my player, but then the inputs are all skewed when looking around. I'm guessing this is because the player itself hasn't actually moved.

I have a first person player character.

Is what I'm trying to achieve possible with virtual cameras? Can i somehow set another player root to the new virtual camera so the inputs and camera rotation are centred to the new virtual camera? Or maybe there's a different way of doing this entirely.

Thanks for any help given, i really appreciate it.

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

If you want the player to get inside the locker, then the player should get inside the locker. If you try to fake it by just putting the camera inside the locker, then of course all your movement code will be wrong.