Search Unity

How to do visual level design when extensively using ECS?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by rook-e, Nov 18, 2018.

1. rook-e

rook-e

(Disclaimer: I am new to Unity / game programming)

Every tutorial or sample I see focuses on using the ECS for a player class e.g. moving and rotating. They always use a bootstrap GameObject to integrate the new ECS which handles the spawning of the associated player mesh etc.
    As you spawn your objects programmatically, how does one design a level (terrain, foliage, enemy-positioning etc) through the editor? You only have one bootstrap GameObject which doesnt even have a mesh in the scene viewer? As I see it artists want to place assets visusally, not through code. Am I missing something fundamental here? I just don't see how the ECS code integrates at all with the visual design tools of Unity and a search of this topic didn't turn up anything.

Regards,
    rook-e

Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
  2. Antypodish

Antypodish

Not yet.

Since you are starting, you probably don't want to go ECS route.
    ECS at current state expects more advance programming knowledge, as it is still work in progress.

I suggest you first, if you focus on Unity Classic OOP. Mean Object Oriented Programming in Unity.
    If you not sure what I mean, check tutorials in Learn section.

3. rook-e

rook-e

I see.

Thats a pity as the classic approach does not scale as well and isn't easily convertible. Starting a new game with a soon-to-be deprecated pattern just doesnt feel right. I do not fear the need of advanced programming knowledge, I just don't see me using a technique in which I can't properly design my levels.

Thanks anyway, good to have a post about this.

4. Won't be deprecated any time soon. The scene building techniques will be the same. Take a look at this:

5. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape