Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to disable Render Graph in HDRP11?

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by jjejj87, May 13, 2021.

  1. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,113
    I would like to disable this as it seems to cause a huge CPU overhead (5ms) and would like to disable it but I can't seem to find the option anymore in the default HDRP settings, where can I find em? Or is there a way to disable it via script?
     
    chuckyluv869 likes this.
  2. studentvz

    studentvz

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    149
    Did you manage to disable it, how?
     
  3. PutridEx

    PutridEx

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2021
    Posts:
    1,133
    You can disable Render Graph by going to your HDRP active asset, find it here:
    upload_2022-1-5_4-18-57.png

    then to disable render graph, select the HDRP asset, and in inspector do this:

    *this is the case in 2021.2, maybe it's the same for previous versions.

    I'm not sure if it stays disabled in builds though.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2022
    philhindle likes this.
  4. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    591
    There is a bug with the render graph causing errors constantly at the moment as well, it has been mentioned to be fixed in the next push, so may also have performance fixes too, as Putrid mentioned though you may be able to disable it in debug mode per session for the time being.
     
  5. dizzymediainc

    dizzymediainc

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    426
    This option doesn't seem to be present in 2021.1.26, any thoughts on how to disable it in that version?
     
  6. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    591
    It may have moved around a lot.

    Render Graph is essentially the core to the render pipelines. The API is what you'd used to extend into a customer render pipeline.

    I have a feeling it's part of the CoreRP package. But personally I'm not well versed with it.
     
  7. dizzymediainc

    dizzymediainc

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    426
    I see, yea i'm just trying to find out why my framerate is so low even with empty scenes, HDRP seems to cap fps at 80 even with an entirely empty scene.

    So figured it was the render graph adding extra that was not necessary.
     
    HIBIKI_entertainment likes this.
  8. jjejj87

    jjejj87

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,113
    Thanks! I will test it!
     
  9. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    591

    There's certainly a lot going on in this particular situation, but editors are certainly seeing some bumps and slow downs.


    Empty maps in HDRP for example won't count a good baseline to test, just because unity assigns resources upfront ( based on RP assets)

    I made a post some time ago going through these particulars, as was able to refine the set up to that of what people using built in are used to seeing.
    So always super important to tune your render pipeline asset upfront based around your project and hardware target needs.

    Render graph and recent changes have seen a slide for sure.

    There was a forum post recently that is currently under investigation.
     
  10. Jack_Martison

    Jack_Martison

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Posts:
    134
    Sorry for necro, but for someone who searching to squeeze more performance from base HDRP project, in 22 and 23 versions "Use render graph" check box is still on old place. Checking it off gains about 1-1.5ms - making from 4.5ms to about 3-3.2ms (from 220 to 330fps)

    Apparently render graph is for someone who wants to expand Core RP, so the majority of users doesn't need it.
     
  11. Julien_Unity

    Julien_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Posts:
    72
    Hi,

    The check box that you can see in debug mode is actually a leftover that isn't connected to anything (and should definitely be removed). It's not possible with version 22 onward to disable the render graph (it was only an option during a transition phase).
    The difference in performance you are observing is most likely coming from somewhere else. A more detailed profiling capture could help pinpoint the difference.

    Also just a note that render graph is not just for extension, it's also a huge memory save (30-40% of HDRP render target memory was saved compared to not using render graph). We are aware that there is some overhead compared to before we introduced the render graph and are still looking into making optimization to make things better.
     
  12. Jack_Martison

    Jack_Martison

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Posts:
    134
    The checkbox is still here as of 2022 LTS. My eyes can't lie seeing major buff in performance after ticking it off.
    Default empty scene 4.4ms
    Default empty scene with Render Graph turned off - 3.2-3.1ms
     
  13. mgeorgedeveloper

    mgeorgedeveloper

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Posts:
    308
    If this is indeed the case, it seems that this legacy checkbox is affecting something that it probably shouldn't. Because render graph is active in both cases, so then what exactly is causing the extra 1ms of wasted time with the box checked on? I will check this also to see if I can repro.
     
  14. Julien_Unity

    Julien_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Posts:
    72
    As I said earlier, without a proper profiling comparison, it's impossible to tell where the difference is coming from.
    That being said, I did check and the check box is not connected to anything at all. So it's definitely not having any effect.
    Note sure if that search is going to show properly but look here for useRenderGraph in HDRP related files:
    https://github.com/search?q=repo:Unity-Technologies/Graphics+useRenderGraph&type=code&p=1
     
    mgeorgedeveloper likes this.