Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to create a simple walking script (C#)?

Discussion in '2D' started by yawnm3, Dec 20, 2014.

1. yawnm3

yawnm3

Hi, I am a total newb in Unity and I am having problem with just the movement of my sprite..I have added a rigidbody2d to my sprite and collisionbox2d to the background. Set the collisionbox2d smaller in size for the ground only and done.

I am using MonoDevelop and I do not know much of C#. My main programming language is C++ so thankfully there's some similarities.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class Walking : MonoBehaviour {
    5.     public float WalkSpeed;
    6.     // Use this for initialization
    7.     void Start ()
    8.     {
    10.     }
    12.     // Update is called once per frame
    13.     void Update ()
    14.     {
    15.         if(Input.GetKey (KeyCode.LeftArrow))
    16.         {
    17.            //How do I start from here??
    18.         }
    20.     }
    21. }
    How do I get my player position axis and set it to (x -= WalkSpeed) ? Also my MonoDevelop keep showing this error

Sorry if I ask too much. The main problem is I do not know how my player is gonna use that movement script..The rigidbody gravity scale is set to 1 but when I click on the "Play" button, the sprite is not moving at all. Not even falling hitting the collisionbox2d.. I am really new to Unity. Hopefully you guys can provide me with simple solution and let me figure out the rest. Thanks in advance.

2. vakabaka

vakabaka

sprite need colider2D too.

put sprite in the scene, add collider2D (box or circle) to them, add rigidbody2D. Make c# script with lines:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public float speed;
    2. private float move;
    3. void Update () {
    4. move = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");