Search Unity

How to create a one-to-one multiplayer game with Netcode for Gameobjects

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by lobador, Nov 14, 2022.

1. lobador

lobador

I am very new to the multiplayer concept and need some insights about creating a one-to-one multiplayer game using Netcode for Gameobjects. As far as I review the documents I can create a server/host/client but what is the correct approach for creating a game like backgammon, chess or clash of clans?
    Just to match 2 players and run the game!

Is there any example with Netcode for Gameobjects for this?
    or can you kindly give me some guidance?

Thanks in advance!

2. RikuTheFuffs-U

RikuTheFuffs-U

Unity Technologies

Hi @lobador ! You can definitely create these types of game with Netcode for gameobjects (aka "NGO"). If you want to connect two players you can do it in different ways.

The most popular/cheaper is using a Relay server + NAT punchthrough whenever possible. You can have a look at setting up a Relay server for your game here.
    If your game becomes competitive-focused in the future (I.E: with ranked games like in League of Legends), you might think of switching to a dedicated server approach using Unity Game Server hosting (more expensive, but also cheater-proof if you code your game properly).

Does this answer your question?

lobador likes this.
  3. lobador

lobador

Hi @RikuTheFuffs-U, many thanks for your prompt response.

I will definitely have a look at to Relay server + NAT!

As far as I saw in NGO samples, the only options create a server and then a client.

to connect two players, is there any sample/walkthrough? Should I create one server and one client for each match? or is this a very early question before reviewing Relay server + NAT, you think? :)

Thanks again!

4. RikuTheFuffs-U

RikuTheFuffs-U

Unity Technologies

@lobador happy to help!