Search Unity

Question How to choose observations?

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by jatinpawar2805, Jul 21, 2020.

1. jatinpawar2805

jatinpawar2805

Hi, community

I am just getting started with ML-Agents. As of now, I am trying to build a simple "Food Collector" with the sole aim of training an agent to collect food randomly spawned in an area.

As far as I have understood, for training a model we need the following things:
    1) Decide goal - Collect food spawned randomly over an area
    2) Action the agent can take - 1) Can move forward only 2) Can rotate clockwise and anticlockwise.
    3) Reward - Agents get 1 point to collect (collide with) food and 0.1 points is taken away if it falls off the platform
    4) Observations - This is where I think I am going wrong.

I tried taking the following sets of observations:
    1) Agent.localPosition and Food.localPosition
    2) Agent.locaPostion , Food.localPosition and Agent.localEulerAngles
    3) Agetn.localPosition, Food.localPosition, Agent.loclaEulerAngles and AgentRigidBody.velocity

For every set of observation mentioned above, I trained a model which trained for 5,00,000 steps with Decision Requestor with a decision period of 5. But none of the given set of observations gave me the desired results.

What can/should I do? Where could I be possibly going wrong? What should the approach to building a simple Food Collector?

PS: I am attaching images of my Heuristic(), OnActionRecieved(), CollectObservation(), onCollisionEnter() for you referance.

Looking forward to community response.
    2_CollectObservation.png 3_OnActionRecieved.png 4_onCollisionEnter.png

Attached Files:

2. mbaske

mbaske