Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to change the size of the arrow in the Foldout element?

Discussion in 'UI Toolkit' started by bsterling250DI, Mar 27, 2020.

1. bsterling250DI

bsterling250DI

Hello,

I'm new to the UI Toolkit. I'm trying to make some UI for a simple iphone program with a ListView of Foldouts. I'm struggling to figure out how to resize the arrow icon, when I select it in UIBuilder, the child elements of the Foldout are all greyed out and can't be altered.
    So i tried to start manually adding selectors to modify the dimensions of the image, and I was able to modify the width/height of the container the image is in, but the original image itself doesn't change size, just the space around it grows.

I've tried the -unity-background-scale-mode settings, but they don't seem to change anything to me, please help.

I may be going about this entirely the wrong way, but I also can't seem to figure a way to duplicate the foldout so that i can edit the values or even the background image (in case i want a different image entirely) but can't even do that.

2. uDamian

uDamian

Unity Technologies

Foldout, like many custom C# controls, add child elements inside themselves to achieve certain functionality. These internal elements are readonly in the UI Builder because changes to them cannot be represented in the result UXML (expand the UXML Preview at the bottom of the Viewport to see the generated UXML).

Foldout is also a container element and it has a special child element inside marked to be "the container". When you add children to a Foldout, they don't get added immediately under the Foldout in the hierarchy, but instead, they get added inside this special container element.