Search Unity

how to catch InvalidKeyException ?

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by Arcanor, Apr 10, 2020.

1. Arcanor

Arcanor

I'm just getting started with Addressables. My first goal is to handle the exception when the resource path is incorrect. I'm setting up what I think should be a very simple test case, where the path doesn't exist:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     private void TextureHandle_Completed(AsyncOperationHandle<Texture2D> handle)
    2.     {
    3.         if (handle.Status == AsyncOperationStatus.Succeeded)
    4.         {
    5.             Texture2D result = handle.Result;
    6.             // The texture is ready for use.
    7.             Debug.Log("Got it");
    8.         }
    9.         else
    10.         {
    11.             Debug.LogWarning("Didn't get it");
    12.         }
    13.     }
    15.     void Start()
    16.     {
    17.         AsyncOperationHandle<Texture2D> textureHandle = new AsyncOperationHandle<Texture2D>();
    18.         try
    19.         {
    20.             textureHandle = Addressables.LoadAssetAsync<Texture2D>("path_that_doesnot_exist");
    21.         }
    22.         catch (System.Exception e)
    23.         {
    24.             Debug.LogWarning("EXCEPTION: " + e);
    25.             return;
    26.         }
    27.         textureHandle.Completed += TextureHandle_Completed;
    28.     }
    However, there's an unhandled exception being thrown from down in the addressables package:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Exception encountered in operation UnityEngine.ResourceManagement.ResourceManager+CompletedOperation`1[UnityEngine.Texture2D], result='', status='Failed': Exception of type 'UnityEngine.AddressableAssets.InvalidKeyException' was thrown., Key=path_that_doesnot_exist, Type=UnityEngine.Texture2D
    2. UnityEngine.ResourceManagement.AsyncOperations.AsyncOperationBase`1:<.ctor>b__33_0(AsyncOperationHandle)