Search Unity

How to build an animated score bar like GTA 1?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by filiperangel, Apr 13, 2015.

1. filiperangel

filiperangel

Hi, I am trying to build a animated score bar like GTA 1 but I have no idea in how to start that and I am not great with animations yet. To exemplify what I am trying to do you can view this video, skip to 5:18 please. (the score bar is on the top right):

if anyone have done that or if you could send me links that will help me build such a thing it would be great.

Thank you in advance.

2. funshark

funshark

I'm not a programmer so I can't go further in the explanation ( like, how you could code that guy ), but you can do that with a mask and a sprite with all your numbers disposed vertically.

3. filiperangel

filiperangel

Thank you for the tip, I will look into it and see how far I can get. If you have anything else that could help me please let me know. Cheers.

4. funshark

funshark

5. filiperangel

filiperangel

Based on your info and some research that I made on the internet I was able to make something similar to what I want to do. I have exported my scene so you guys can have a look in what I've done so far. To make the score add just press Up Arrow, it will add 2 to the score.

There are two scripts one called Content.cs that is responsible for making the animation of the score bar. Calling the method AddPoint(int point) will call a Coroutine that makes the animation happen by adding a velocity to the scrollRect (ContentScore0, ContentScore1, ...), the reason I am calling a coroutine is because this way I can let the animation run for 2 seconds (or more) and then I stop it by setting the anchoredPostion of the scrollRect to the position of the image that represents the score number. Also, before setting the anchoredPosition, after the 2 seconds that I set for the animation I rearrange the images so the number that I want is always on top, here is the code for that:

Code (CSharp):