Search Unity

How to align different sized Sprites with the ground

Discussion in '2D' started by SmithUnityNoob, Mar 2, 2021.

1. SmithUnityNoob

SmithUnityNoob

Hi,

For context I'm trying to make a Pokémon clone and I've currently got a player object and an enemy object which I can assign a Pokémon as an asset in the battle mode.

The problem is, the sprites I've got are all aligned in the centre and it's causing an issue due to all the Pokémon being different sizes and thus some go through the bottom of the ground / float above it. I can't think of how to get it so they are all aligned in the middle of the battle circle regardless of their sprite size? The only option I can think of is to manually go through each sprite and move their feet to the bottom of the image but that's gonna take ages if I want to include hundreds

I'm very new to Unity and relying on tutorials but I've googled for the last hour and can't describe what the issue is concisely enough to find an answer

2. Lo-renzo

Lo-renzo

Perhaps I misunderstand your problem, but it sounds like your ground should be in a lower Order in Layer and your characters should be in a larger Order in Layer. This is an option on the SpriteRenderer. If you make that adjustment, then the ground will always be behind the characters. If that sounds very offbase, an illustration / screenshot would help us understand the problem better.

But you should also be aware of all the other sorting information and tools at your disposal.

In the SpriteEditor change the pivot point of your sprite to being in the correct spot. This pivot point influences where the "behind" / "in front" point is when sorting.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/SpriteEditor.html

On the SpriteRenderer use Sprite Sort Point : Pivot
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-SpriteRenderer.html