Search Unity

Question How to access script from different Assembly in play mode testing?

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by unity_3rwby93b8roxIQ, Jan 11, 2021.

1. unity_3rwby93b8roxIQ

unity_3rwby93b8roxIQ

Hello,
    I am new with Unity test framework and have encountered a problem.
    I want to access a script attached to a GameObject in the scene that I load in the beginning of the test.
    The problem occurs in the bolded areas: The type or namespace name '****' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?

How can I access methods in script attached to a gameObject in a scene I open with a test?
    Thanks for the help:)

Code:
    using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using NUnit.Framework;
    using UnityEngine;
    using UnityEngine.TestTools;
    using UnityEngine.SceneManagement;
    using UnityEngine.EventSystems;
    using UnityEngine.UI;
    using *name of my assembly

namespace Tests
    {
    public class Test1
    {
    private GameObject otherGameObject;
    private MyScriptName myScriptName;

[UnityTest]
    public IEnumerator Test1WithEnumeratorPasses()
    {
    SceneManager.LoadScene("NameOfMyScene");
    yield return new WaitForSecondsRealtime(5);
    otherGameObject = GameObject.Find("GameObjectWithScript");
    myScriptName = otherGameObject.GetComponent<MyScriptName>();

yield return null;
    }
    }
    }

2. superpig

superpig

Drink more water! Unity Technologies

In the Inspector for the asmdef that covers your tests, you need to add a reference to the asmdef that covers the code you want to use.

3. unity_3rwby93b8roxIQ

unity_3rwby93b8roxIQ

But what if all of my code is under Assembly-CSharp. And I cant put my code under some other assembly.
    Is it possible in that case?

dan_ginovker likes this.
  4. superpig

superpig