Search Unity

How should I proceed learning shaders?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Hotpockets26, Dec 5, 2018.

1. Hotpockets26

Hotpockets26

Hello! I am new to shader writing and I just cant seem to wrap my head around some of the basic math in beginner tutorials on youtube. like for example I am doing this great tutorial by N3K.

After 10:30 in the video I am almost completely lost.

Code (CSharp):
    1. Shader "N3K/N3KSpotlight"
    2. {
    3.     Properties
    4.     {
    5.         _MainTex ("Texture", 2D) = "white" {}
    6.         _CharacterPosition("Char Pos", vector) = (0,0,0,0)
    7.         _CircleRadius("Spotlight size", Range(0,20)) = 3
    8.         _RingSize("Ring Size", Range(0,5)) = 1
    9.         _ColorTint("Outside of the spotlight color", Color) = (0,0,0,0)
    10.     }
    11.     SubShader
    12.     {
    13.         Tags { "RenderType"="Opaque" }
    14.         LOD 100
    16.         Pass
    17.         {
    18.             CGPROGRAM
    19.             #pragma vertex vert
    20.             #pragma fragment frag
    22.             #include "UnityCG.cginc"
    24.             struct appdata
    25.             {
    26.                 float4 vertex : POSITION;
    27.                 float2 uv : TEXCOORD0;
    28.             };
    30.             struct v2f
    31.             {
    32.                 float2 uv : TEXCOORD0;
    33.                 float4 vertex : SV_POSITION;
    35.                 float3 worldPos : TEXCOORD1; // World postion of that vertex
    36.             };
    38.             sampler2D _MainTex;
    39.             float4 _MainTex_ST;
    41.             float4 _CharacterPosition;
    42.             float _CircleRadius;
    43.             float _RingSize;
    44.             float4 _ColorTint;
    47.             v2f vert (appdata v)
    48.             {
    49.                 v2f o;
    50.                 o.vertex = UnityObjectToClipPos(v.vertex);