Search Unity

How should I code my gun to shoot?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Gabrieldonley, Dec 11, 2015.

1. Gabrieldonley

Gabrieldonley

Hi there,
    I'm very new to Unity and I'm working on a 2D infinite scrolling shooter game. I have the basic scene completed and I'm just using it as stand-ins until I can get a good designer!! Well, anyway, I have a stationary character behind a gun who is supposed to shoot at passing enemies. To keep this question simple, how can I make it so that wherever I click on the screen (providing its not the pause button) then the projectile shoots? I have it so when I click Mouse0, The projectile shoots, but it just translates straight up. Could someone please help me with this? Thanks in advance!:)

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Try using Quaternion.RotateTowards as shown in the sample code to rotate the projectile towards the point clicked.

You will first need to translate the screen point clicked into a point in the world... Camera.ScreenToWorldPoint ought to do that for you.

Good luck, and welcome to the community!

Ryiah likes this.
  3. Gabrieldonley

Gabrieldonley

Thanks Joe! I'll try that in a sec! Sounds like it should work!

4. Gabrieldonley

Gabrieldonley

Hi Joe,
    So I took the Quaternion.RotateTowards documentation and implemented it in my projectile script just where it said to. Then I took the Camera.ScreenToWorldPoint docu and put that in my script. Surprisingly, I only had 1 error. Speed in the quaternion needs to be defined. I made a new public bool and called it speed but it gave me this error message: Operator '*' cannot be applied to operands of type 'bool' and 'float' Hope this helps! Thanks

5. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Well, of course you can't just throw bits of code into a method and expect it to work — it's not a cake. :) If you're trying to multiply a bool by a float then, yeah, something has gone seriously sideways.