Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How Quaternion.LookRotation works?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Tibor_coder, Oct 10, 2020.

1. Tibor_coder

Tibor_coder

Hi, I am trying to make an object rotate towards an other object in 2d. However, I don't fully understand how Quaternion.LookRotation works. I know it asks for an upwards and a forwards vector but I don't know what those are. Could anyone explain to me how Quaternion.LookRotation works?

I am a beginner in Unity.

2. Antistone

Antistone

The first argument is a vector pointing in the direction you want to look. If you are trying to look at another object, you probably want to use (thatObject.position - thisObject.position).

The second argument says what direction you want to treat as up. Because theoretically you could still look in the target direction even if you were upside-down or rolled over on your side or something. For 3D, usually you use Vector3.up; but if your 2D game is set in the XY plane then you probably want to use positive Z instead (which is Vector3.forward).

3. Tibor_coder

Tibor_coder

Hi, thank you for your reply! I am sorry I am a beginner at Unity, so could you explain to me why you use Vector3.forward for 2d games.

4. Antistone

Antistone

It just depends where your ground is. A 3D game usually has the ground on the XZ plane, with gravity being along the negative Y axis. A top-down 2D game often will instead put the ground on the XY plane and assume everything is positioned at Z = 0 all the time.

Although I suppose it also depends on how you've used the local axes of the object that you are rotating...

Bunny83 likes this.
  5. eses

eses

@Tibor_coder

You can't use LookRotation for 2D quite like you would use it for 3D. Maybe I don't know all about it, but that is my understanding. See explanation below.