Search Unity

Question How much should I use Resources.Load()?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by IIBearWithII, May 30, 2023.

1. IIBearWithII

IIBearWithII

I read that I need to be careful because I think it said all of the Resources will be brought into each scene. If I use Resources to keep a lot of things in, would that be a problem for the average game? I'm specifically things of keep all audio in there. I know that probably wouldn't be recommended, but could I technically get away with it. I just finished a chapter on sound from a book I'm studying and learned that audio clips, especially long ones, can take up a lot of memory...

2. Not the resources themselves, but the indexing table.

I would learn Addressables instead properly and setup assets on the way they should be so they can be loaded and unloaded as needed.
    I also would rather click the audio 'streaming' option rather than resources load.

In summary: you should aim zero
    Resources.Load()
    as hard as you can.

IIBearWithII likes this.
  3. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

The issues related to the indexing table are very overblown, using Resources.Load is fine. We've been using it liberally (although not more than we need) and we haven't had a problem with that aspect even on S***ty dog ass slow mobile devices.

I'm not even sure Unity knows what the problem is, because when they produced a blog post to convince everyone to use asset bundles instead of Resources, there was barely any benefit shown (if at all).

https://blog.unity.com/technology/asset-bundles-vs-resources-a-memory-showdown

This is asset bundles:

This is Resources:

And again asset bundles but now "optimized"

Which one uses less memory?

Employees have also said the wrong things in the past as well.

That said, don't put in it more things than you need. I wouldn't use it for audio really, there are other ways to manage audio related memory that don't involve the resources folder.