Search Unity

How long will it take to become a decent game (Unity) developer?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Jabrail_Lezgintsev, Feb 4, 2020.

1. Jabrail_Lezgintsev

Jabrail_Lezgintsev

Hello friends.

I want to become a game developer. I started programming in 11th years old (Now I am 19). Previously I've been programming with Python+Django as a back-end developer. I have a lot of knowledge about programming languages and all this kind's stuff. I learned C# in 4 days by watching youtube videos (before I've been learning lots of languages: Python, C, Java, JavaScript etc). It doesn't mean that other languages I learned so fast, I have been learning Python for about 2 years, it was my first programming language).

I was working in freelance as a back-end developer, but now I understand I want to be a Game Developer. When I was 12-13 I was using Game Maker Studio for game development, but it was too long ago. My game development knowledges is limited to understanding how to make collision and create a window.

I have no knowledges about Algorithms. Do I need to learn them? I have pretty good math skills (I finished
    school with a mathematical bias), but I am not good at physics.

I want to create some 2D games and get revenue from it. I already read a lot about how hard to make money in game development. But, what do you think: How long will it take to become a really good Unity games developer that costs 200$ for a month?

P.S I am not a native English speaker, sorry for my English level

2. Jabrail_Lezgintsev

Jabrail_Lezgintsev

I understand that it's pretty difficult to say how much time will it take so that me to become that level game developer. I asking about my case, what do you think of this? This is my github https://github.com/joe513 , in case if somebody wants to know my level in programming

3. Antony-Blackett

Antony-Blackett

My advice:

get a job at an established game studio first.

4. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape