Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How long do you think it will take to make this game? Any tips?

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by kukewilly, Mar 13, 2019.

1. kukewilly

kukewilly

Hi All,

I've been learning to code for about 6 months and I think I'm getting the hang of it. I definitely understand how most things work, just building my knowledge base of different unity functions and coding techniques. I'm making a relatively simple VR (Oculus), Multiplayer, FPS game and I'm wondering if some people with experience can let me know how long it might take to have the following in my game:

- 6/7 weapons
    - Multiplayer functionality
    - Score system (points, kills, deaths, assists, captures)
    - 1 map, something similar in size too counterstrikes gungame levels (~5000-10000 sqft)
    - XP/Currency system for unlocking new guns and avatar looks
    - 4 types of in game power ups
    - Player health, pts, xp/currency
    - Player controls (only grab, triggers, start, thumbstick pop-up interface for selecting items/guns)
    - Available servers/game interface
    - Main menu

The whole game is going to be low poly with a retro art style. What assets do you recommend (especially on the coding side of things) to help me get the fundamentals in place fast?

I know this might be difficult to guess, pretty dependent on details, but I'll take anything +/- 5 months... I'll be doing this alone and have a full time job, probably can dedicate ~12-13 hours per week to this. Thanks!

Kukewilly

Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
  2. Antypodish

Antypodish

"This" game take you nothing, because you even din't specified, what you want.
    Any other game (other than small puzzle size), specially VR, probably solid few years minimum.

3. kukewilly

kukewilly