Search Unity

How is money earned in free browser games?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by redcodec, Jan 25, 2013.

1. redcodec

redcodec

Hi community here! I'm an indie game developer currently in need of a little help. I'm working on a browser based strategy game alike tribal wars and I'm curious to know how are revenues earned from free browser games? I have read about portals and advertising but I am still not clear how those work and how much revenue those can net you. I do know about selling in game items for cash and I understand that well enough.

I'm also curious about the difference about putting your browser game on sites like bbg.com opposed to simply putting your game on your own hosted server?

Hoping someone can help teach and educate me alittle more on this, thanks. Any help appreciated.

2. Jackjan

Jackjan

With adversiting, selling the users personal data (E-Mail address...etc.) or with ingame items.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  3. redcodec

redcodec

@JackJan: selling users personal data does not sound ethical. By the way, any idea how much money can you make off advertisements put on the site? Any figures will be helpful here thanks!

4. PatBGames

PatBGames

Around 1 USD per 1000 play sessions with Kongregate.com. This is similar to how much YouTube pay for videos owners.

5. redcodec

redcodec

@Pat: Can you put numerous multiple ads so you can 1 usd per 1000 play session for each of these ads? It does sound like very little money does it?

6. Gigiwoo

Gigiwoo

The new ecomony is ... 'free'. It's your job to figure out how to make money with that. There are ads, there are ad-ons, and there is additional optional content. There are ways to do it, but ... none of them are easy - which is why most products don't make back their investment.

This is your challenge.... should you chose to accept it.

Gigi.

7. khanstruct

khanstruct

It is strange. It seems people pay for users now, whether those users are spending any money or not.