Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

How i can disable entity with child objects?

Discussion in 'Project Tiny' started by TheFordeD, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. TheFordeD

    TheFordeD

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Posts:
    32
    He people!
    I have a problem with Tiny:
    I create struct:

    upload_2019-2-6_16-32-35.png

    I have script who init and create pointers in object params:

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. static getEntity(world: ut.World, entity: string): ut.Entity {
    2.             return world.getEntityByName(entity);
    3.         }
    4.  
    5. ...
    6.  
    7. gameInterface.Buttons.NextPage = this.getEntity(world, "NextPage");
    8.             gameInterface.Buttons.PrevPage = this.getEntity(world, "PrevPage");
    9.             gameInterface.Buttons.ClosePopup = this.getEntity(world, "ClosePopup");
    10. gameInterface.Panels.Win = this.getEntity(world, "PanelWin");
    11.             gameInterface.Panels.Gamble = this.getEntity(world, "PanelGamble");
    12.             gameInterface.Panels.Paytable = this.getEntity(world, "PanelPaytable");
    13.             gameInterface.Panels.Popup = this.getEntity(world, "PanelPopup");
    14.  
    15.  
    If i use method to disable on one of this objects (red color), console send me about error:
    upload_2019-2-6_16-36-8.png

    code:

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. static SetActive(world: ut.World, entity:ut.Entity, active:boolean): void {
    2.             if(active) {
    3.                 if (world.hasComponent(entity, ut.Disabled)) {
    4.                     world.removeComponent(entity, ut.Disabled)
    5.                 }
    6.             } else {
    7.                 if (!world.hasComponent(entity, ut.Disabled)) {
    8.                     world.addComponent(entity, ut.Disabled);
    9.                 }
    10.             }
    11.         }
    12.  
    13. ...
    14.  
    15. this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Buttons.NextPage, false);
    16.             this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Buttons.PrevPage, false);
    17.             this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Buttons.ClosePopup, false);
    18. this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Panels.Win, false);
    19.             this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Panels.Gamble, false);
    20.  
    21. this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Panels.Paytable, false);
    22.             this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Panels.Popup, false);
    What the problem?
     
  2. TheFordeD

    TheFordeD

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Posts:
    32
    Help me please...
     
  3. SzabolcsNagy

    SzabolcsNagy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, I'm just guessing here, as I'm a beginner too, but I think those Entity references are valid only during the scope of the update() method. So you cannot really cache entity references like that. (You can possibly create an entity with a component that holds all those references and then they would remain valid, OR you call that getter each time you try to access those entities.). E.g.

    gameInterface.Buttons.NextPage = world => this.getEntity(world, "NextPage");

    and later on use it like:
    this.SetActive(world, gameInterface.Buttons.NextPage(this.world), false);
     
  4. TheFordeD

    TheFordeD

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Posts:
    32
    As I understand it, do you suggest that I create a so-called prefab in which there are child elements?
     
  5. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    What I found walking between forum posts and with my own experience was, the entity becomes invalid after being disabled, but you can still access him creating your own reference.

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. const { index, version } = entity
    2. const entityRef = new ut.Entity(index, version)
    Do not cache the entity given by Tiny, because the object will be reused internally and became invalid or will be pointing to another random stuff.
    Create a new reference while you disable and use this reference to re-enable.