Search Unity

How hard is it for an intermediate windows unity developer to start with iOS?

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by monkeybrother, May 27, 2013.

1. monkeybrother

monkeybrother

Hi. I work with architectural visualization and I'm the Unity guy at my workplace. Today an architect asked me about developing an iPad app that she can show her clients (click on a house, zoom in, get info, maybe walk around a bit, things like that). The problem is that, so far, I've only developed for web player/windows (don't hit me) and have no idea what it takes to get started with iOS development.

How long does it generally take to set up an apple developer account, for example?
    What do I need to think about in general when switching from desktop to iOS?
    I'm not a hardcore programmer, I'm a 3D artist that happens to know JavaScript: will I have a hard time switching?
    How can I install the app I'll create on new machines? I've understood that iOS is a lot more closed than android.

I know these are pretty general questions, but I would really appreciate your input so that I don't get in over my head.

Thanks.

2. Glockenbeat

Glockenbeat

In general developing for iOS is not that much of a deal if you know any other platform. Also it seems like you don't have a choice. ;)

You will specifically need to take care of some things, which are also the most important things:

• UI/Aspect ratios: The aspect ratios of the displays on mobile devices are often different to what you are used to on the PC. For example, up to iPhone 5 the iPhone had an aspect ratio of 3:2. That makes a difference if you build your game controls.
    • Input. Input is handled differently on mobile devices than on PC - so far that should not be a suprise. Unity is quite easy with that though and you can basically switch from a mouse/keyboard driven control type to a touch based control type in a minute. Or let's say hours.