Search Unity

How good is Unity for one person?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ZaharZagrava, Dec 15, 2018.

1. ZaharZagrava

ZaharZagrava

Hi everyone! I am planning to try Unity soon and I want to know what functionality does it have and how good is it in general for a single person. My focus is simple mobile games (hyper casual). I have some experience of creating a browser game in the past (javascript) and creating some projects in C++ so I am not starting from zero.
    • For example how fast can I create a game like Color Switch in it?
    • How much time will I spend coding? If I want to create an endless game with little level blocks that appear to the player randomly how much time should I spend coding this gameplay?
    • How easy is the level creation process?
    • How fast is the development process in comparison to Buildbox?
    • Can you tell me specific features that Unity has that will be useful for an indie?
    The thing is that I don't want to get stuck solving code problems and start actually creating the game itself but still have the freedom to be creative. I know that it's a very broad question but I want to know what is Unity before getting to learn it.

2. Oh boy. A lot? If you go here and start scrolling you can see some of them in a nutshell.
    It's perfect for a single developer. It's easy to learn, it's feature rich, they are now trying to lead the field and have strong R&D department, so they started to become innovative as well.

You will need C# though.

I have no idea, couple of hours maybe a day? Never tried. And of course, it depends on your expertise and your experience with your tools including Unity.

Depends what are you doing. If you choose asset to build your game with visual programming, then almost none. If you choose to code, then a lot. Probably.

Exactly red. Easy for whom? I guess moderately and if you buy some assets from the asset store it becomes super easy.

This IDK. Never used Buildbox.