Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How does one find/recruit partners for an indie game and what are some of the legal aspects?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wheee09, Nov 22, 2019.

1. wheee09

wheee09

Hi all,

To provide a bit of context here, I'm a developer/consultant working on a game by myself. I'm currently spending about 50% of time consulting and the other 50% on my game. I'm working towards the point where I'll be devoting more and more time on the game and less on the consulting.

As my background is that of a pretty experienced full-stack developer... I'm hoping that in the not-so-distant future I'll be at a point where I can start looking for people to help supplement my gaps - ie. artists, animators, sound, etc.

The good news is that I have some capital to leverage which means that hiring people could be an option. I'm also not against partnering with well-aligned people but having invested a lot of time and energy into this, I don't think someone could offer me so much value that I would consider giving up significant amount of ownership.. but who knows!

Anyway, I have some questions...

1. As I'm currently in Canada... if I were to work with or hire people from overseas, how does one protect intellectual property (ie. source code, game design and so on) from being stolen... or is that not really possible? For example, is there anything that could stop a hired developer with access to the project from taking an almost finished product and just launching it on Steam early access before I'm even aware of it?

2. How feasible or difficult is it to find/work with people from other countries? Or is it better to try to find people that are local?

3. What are the some of the ways to find artists?

4. If you're going to partner with someone, what are some things that I should be wary of?