Search Unity

How do you keep up to date with Unity?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CDF, Apr 24, 2019.

1. CDF

CDF

I feel like I'm struggling to keep up with all the updates Unity are pushing out recently.
    There's a lot of scattered information around the forums these days. Especially in the experimental section.
    Hard to know what the state of anything is.

Before using any tech Unity puts out, I usually dig around giant forum threads, 5+ pages long to try and decipher what might be an issue. It's quite mentally draining.

Is there a better way?
    How do you guys keep up to date?

2. My secret is that I don't. I chose 2-3 things which I'm trying to keep up with (since I'm a software engineer), DOTS, HDRP and Audio.
    Since I have very limited idea about Physics or Vfx, I do not really keep up with those (occasionally read into it, but I don't spend much time with them). I also don't really know too much about shaders, so I don't really deep learn shader-graph as well, although on the surface it does not seem too intimidating.
    I generally like to read through everything so I know what's happening broadly, but I don't sink in, only the chosen ones, so I can keep up with them.
    Obviously for you maybe different things the most appealing, so you can choose different ones. Everything else can wait until they release the stuff and you actually have to start to use or get to know a little bit.

angrypenguin likes this.
  3. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

I don't, they have sped up the development too fast at this point to even stay on the cutting edge :D

4. LaneFox

LaneFox

You don't have to keep up, additional features are optional. Just read the release notes/blogs and see if there's something you need or want, if there isn't anything worth updating for then you don't have any reason to update.