Search Unity

How do you guys get 3D models?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Quist, Mar 2, 2016.

1. Quist

Quist

Hey Guys!

My name is Quist and i´ve been here in Unity3D for around 1,5 years and this is where i started playing with coding and game development.

So after i´ve practiced my scripting skills a lot im starting to lack 3D models to hold my scripts!
    So my question is: How do you guys get models to your games?
    - I use Unity Asset Store but its very limited and hard to mix the assets.

Also I dont want to be an artist so i have never bothered with Blender or such programs.

So what do you guys suggest me to do to get some 3D models?
    - Use my time to learn how to create them myself?
    - Or what do you guys think / do? :)

2. neginfinity

neginfinity

You can

1. Learn to model (blender is free)
    2. Pay people to make models for you.
    3. Collaborate with others (non-commercial, most likely)
    4. Buy models from many online shops.
    5. Switch to simpler visual style where you can still create the art yourself.
    6. Download and use whatever can be found for free on sites like blendswap.

Martin_H and kittik like this.
  3. drewradley

drewradley

You forgot procedural mesh geometry inside Unity.

4. Quist

Quist

I´ve thought about collaborating, but the Unity forum seems like a sausage party, where the coders are the sausage.. Am i wrong in my observation or how difficult do you guys find it for a beginner - medium coder to find a collaboration?

Tomnnn likes this.
  5. Lee7

Lee7

IMO, if you dont want to to an artist, dont even try. Its VERY time consuming to make quality work, plus you need to have a natural talent as well.

Your time is much better doing what you do best and what you actually know how to do. Use the asset store and other sites like turbosquid when you can. Or try to find someone with similar interests in making a game like you want to make and team up.

6. neginfinity

neginfinity

-_-