Search Unity

How do you change gravity when button is being input?(similar to super smash fastfall)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by JBjohnnnyboy, Mar 22, 2019.

1. JBjohnnnyboy

JBjohnnnyboy

So im currently making a game where are player jump, move right ,and left. But I wanted to add a mechanic where i would fall fast upon inputing a downward input. But cant seem to figure out which code to use.

My theory of coding it:

Public void FastFall()
    {
    if input.getKeyDown('s')
    GetComponent.rigidbody2d(addforce)
    }

im not really good at coding yet but thats what i have in mind. Please help me ill be much appreciated and will make my day

2. WarmedxMints

WarmedxMints

If it is using a 2d rigid body, you could just increase the gravity scale.

JBjohnnnyboy likes this.
  3. Ryiah

Ryiah

Two main methods immediately come to mind. You can modify gravity itself, but since this is global it will affect the physics of every object in the scene.

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Physics-gravity.html

The other method is to apply a Constant Force component to an object and modify that.

https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-ConstantForce.html

The second one is way more practical than the first. If you create a Constant Force and have a script modify it every frame to point towards a certain spot you can create a spherical gravity effect like the one in Super Mario Galaxy. That was a fun little side project.

Just keep in mind that global gravity will always be active. If you want to overcome the pull of it you will need a higher force to do so (ie if it's 9.81 down you will need more than 9.81 up to overcome it).

Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
    JBjohnnnyboy likes this.
  4. Laperen

Laperen

Do you need the fall speed to return to normal when the input is released halfway while falling?

If you do, that might complicate things, probably requiring to manually set the Y axis value.